AUA Foundation names Research Scholars Program's 2007 class

The AUA Foundation has named the 2007 class for its Research Scholars Program.

The AUA Foundation has named the 2007 class for its Research Scholars Program. The scholars and their research projects are:
2007-'08 Astellas Foundation USA Scholars:

Trinity J. Bivalacqua, MD, PhD, of Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore ("Molecular basis of priapism: Nitric oxide imbalance"); Sean Corbett, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston ("Improved detection of chromosomal anomalies in gonadal dysgenesis"); and Scott Gilbert, MD, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor ("Assessing patient-centered survivorship care in prostate cancer").

2007-'08 Scholars:

Maureen Basha, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia ("Molecular mechanisms regulating vaginal smooth muscle function?), whose sponsors are the Society for Urodynamics and Female Urology and AUA Foundation; Martin Hager, PhD, Children's Hospital Boston ("Membrane heterogeneity in Akt activation in prostate cancer"), whose sponsors are the AUA Foundation Prostate Cancer Fund and GlaxoSmithKline; and Anthony Joshua, MD, Princess Margaret Hospital, University of Toronto ("Implications and consequences of telomere dysfunction in prostate cancer"), whose sponsor is the AUA Foundation.

2007-'09 Scholars:

Collene Jeter, PhD, University of Texas-MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston ("Novel strategy to isolate label-retaining cells from prostate tumors"), whose sponsor is sanofi-aventis; Wujiang Liu, PhD, University of Iowa, Iowa City ("Role of mast cells in antigen-mediated autoimmune cystitis"), whose sponsors are the Interstitial Cystitis Association and Ortho Women's Health and Urology; and Laura Perin, PhD, Children's Hospital Los Angeles ("In vivo application of amniotic fluid stem cells for kidney regeneration"), whose sponsor is Dornier MedTech.